Creative Writing · Epistolary Writing · Fiction · Letters

From Maggie to Juliet – 14 December 2016

Dear Juliet,

The last time we spoke, you said that you had an important decision to make. I was taking out the trash and feeding the kids and preparing for class this morning when I realised I never heard back from you again. Are you all right, Juliet? Do you need some help? You know my house is always open if you need an ear or a shoulder to cry on.

The last few years have been hard on you. I really think you put too much blame on yourself for what happened. In any case, those people you were involved with are not your people, I tried to tell you that Juliet, but you wouldn’t listen.

There I go again, it’s the children’s fault. All of them, my own and the ones in my school. They’ve turned me into a bore. And a nag. A nagging bore. I digress.

All I’m saying is that you, my dear, are a good person. I know you don’t believe me, so I’ll have to keep on saying it until you do. And those people, those people who stripped you bare and sucked you dry until you had nothing left to give, they are the ones who should be sorry. I hate that you blame yourself. Do you hate yourself that much that you must go back? That self-loathing you’ve got going on, Juliet, that’s the things that’s going to kill you.

I lectured enough for one day. Do not see this note as a reflection of my love for you; I’m worried sick and I feel helpless just writing this.

Take care now, Juliet.

Love,

Maggie

Leave a Reply

